2nd Annual Asia Cup Concludes with World Longboard Championship Wildcards Decided and Winners Crowned in Four Surfing Divisions

5 December 2016, Riyue Bay – Hainan Island, China:  Yesterday saw the Asia Cup Men’s and Women’s Shortboard Division champions crowned just after the completion of the first round of the WSL World Long Championship Women’s Division, as the Longboard Divisions were completed and the WLC Wildcards selected in a long Saturday session the day before.

Claiming the Men’s Wildcards on Saturday were Toumei Chen from Taiwan and Wen-Yu Huong from China, who competed in the 24 man strong division with surfers from China, Japan, and Taiwan, and earning the Women’s Wildcard in the Women’s Longboard Division made up of 12 women from China, Japan, and Taiwan was Monica Guo from China.

These surfers will now have a chance to compete side-by-side with the world’s best men and women longboard surfers, a rare and exciting experience they will never forget, in the 2016 WSL World Longboard Championships that runs from 4-13 December.

The Men’s Shortboard Division saw Heng-Liang Kuo (Gugu) from Kenting (TPE) take the number 1 spot fending off fellow Taiwanese surfer Fu-Cheng Chang, who blasted past Indonesia’s Tipi Jabrik in the final minutes for his second place finish.  Jabrik was the oldest competitor in the event pushing 40 years old, but held his own against the younger surfers jumping into the lead with a solid 6-point wave but just couldn’t find wave that would allow him another good score to back it up.  China’s super grom Alex came in fourth place, catching the most waves by far, and will no doubt mature into one of China’s best young surfers.

In the Women’s Shortboard division it was an all Taiwanese affair that saw 14-year-old Leanne MacDonald (Mei-Hsin Pan) put on a strong backhand performance to best Yun Chuang and twin sisters Yen-Tzu Chang and Yen-Chen Chang in the 30 minute final.  The smallish wave conditions challenged the competitors but Leanne managed to find some open faces and blast some turns that impressed the judges, coming back to the beach with the first place finish.

The 2nd annual Asia Cup ran at Riyue Bay on Hainan Island from 2-4 December 2016.



Men’s Shortboard Division Results

1.  Heng-Liang Kuo (TPE)

2.  Fu-Cheng Chang (TPE)

3.  Tipi Jabrik (INA)

4.  Alex (CHN)


Women’s Shortboard Results

1.  Leanne MacDonald / Mei-Hsin Pan (TPE)

2.  Yun Chuang (TPE)

3.  Yen-Tzu Chang (TPE)

4.  Yen-Chen Chang (TPE)



Men’s Longboard Division Results

1.  Shohei Akimoto (JPN)

2.  Masaya Tsukamoto (JPN)

3.  Toumei Chen (TPE) - Wildcard

4.  Wen-Yu Huang (CHN) - Wildcard


Women’s Longboard Division Results

1. Taoka Natsumi (JPN)

2.  Monica Guo (CHN) - Wildcard

3.  Ju Yen (CHN)

4.  Yun-Cheih Wang (TPE)


About the Asian Surfing Championships (ASC)

The Asian Surfing Championships was established in 2010 as the progression of the highly successful Indonesian Surfing Championships that began in Bali, Indonesia in 2004.  The mission of the ASC is to develop and progress the sport of surfing in Asia by assisting in the organizing and sanctioning of professional surfing events, which will help their growing surf communities and draw more attention to their areas for the progression of surfing locally, nationally, and throughout the Asian Region.

Since 2008, the ASC/ISC has sanctioned 195 events around the Asian region for an average of 24 events per year, ranging from junior events to co-sanctioned pro events with the World Surf League in Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, the Maldives, the Philippines, India, Taiwan, and China, and the ASC event media releases and video highlights reach over 12 million viewers per year.